Jewelry: FitzSimmons Bracelet Experiment (Yes, that FitzSimmons)

Jewelry: FitzSimmons Bracelet Experiment (Yes, that FitzSimmons)

IMG_3266You ever get weird ideas for projects at random times and then compulsively come back to them for weeks until you finally just do them so they leave you alone? I have (as previously mentioned in great detail) a very large love for Agents of SHIELD. My particular favorites were instantaneously FitzSimmons way the hell back at the beginning of this roller coaster ride when it was actually awful. They’re the whole reason I stuck around. Without writing you the dissertation length explanation, I have a thing for both scientist/savvy/researchy characters and for every single facet of their relationship with each other. If I have a favorite quirk, trope, or sore spot they make sure they stick their fingers right into it. The only characters I’ve ever loved as much as Fitz and Simmons are Dean Winchester, Arya Stark, and Buffy Summers, who are in a whole different category in my personal pantheon.

IMG_3273
Please note it is astonishingly hard to take a picture of your own dominant hand with a dSLR.

IMG_3274For some reason I wanted to proclaim this love very loudly on my body. I remembered those bent wire word jewelry tutorials (my favorite was a ring that said, simply, “fuck”) and something in my brain said this was necessary. And then the idea wouldn’t leave me alone.

So, today, I took a coupon, went out and bought some 18 gauge wire, and came back to experiment. About an hour, one short length of mutilated wire, a lot of scotch taped pliers, and a rather sore thumb later, this is my lovely result. Not as permanent as a tattoo. Slightly elegant while still being inexcusably nerdy. Sounds right. I didn’t have any chain or anything so I just cut a second length of wire and made a loop on each end to hook into the ends of the cursive. I also might dot Simmons’ “i” with a bead, but I haven’t decided yet.

(I had fully intended to practice a little more on the word “fuck” but the “f” I made was so pretty I just went for it. I’ve got plenty of wire for cuss words later.)

UPDATE: Okay, I’ve been wearing this for about ten minutes and I feel like it’s channeled my otherwise overwhelming affection for and anticipation of Agents of SHIELD into something tangible. This was a good idea. Even if it does mean I’ll have to figure out some way to explain it without terrifying people.

ETA: My mother (who should not follow this blog and is henceforth expelled) has gotten onto me about Simmons’s “m’s” not having a line in front. All I can say is: my fingers were sad and didn’t want to do the extra hard bends in the wire, and I can’t “fix” it now so *shrug.* Looks fine to me.

ETA Again: She angered me. Revised with all the extra bumps, and my fingers will be bruised tomorrow:

IMG_3281

Leave a comment